Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

One page one landowner one tenant many fields

I am fairly new to transcribing, and have chosen a page of tithe map details, but unsure how to proceed.
The single landowner name is spread over lines 1 to 3, the final line being Contd. (as in continued from previous page).
The single occupier name appears on line 2.
The single field name appears on line 1.
The first field number appears on line 2.
So do I enter the landowner, occupier and field name against line 2, together with the details of the first field?
Do I then leave landowner, occupier and field name blank on subsequent lines, (there is no 'Do' or '"' in the relevant columns)?
Where land use is 'Do', do I enter the previous value, or 'Do' or leave blank?
Tagged:

Comments

• Generally speaking, enter the pertinent details on the first available line. I understand the final software will 'ripple down' the missing cells.

Where there's a 'Do' it's up to you - some Tx'ers enter Do, some copy the previous entry.

Post up the county, parish & page so we can have a look.
  • Thanks. Cardiganshire, Llanfihangel Genau'r Glyn, 46-57, 4. I've got some way down the page, but then started doubting what I was doing!
  • Treat the Field Number as your reference on every line.
    On a page like #4, with very faint rulings, trying to start with the Landowner column throws your alignment out and really slows your transcription speed.
    Pay particular attention to the first line you put on the page, as it sets the alignment for everthing which follows.

Pasture V. Rough is "Pasture & Rough"

I've started page 6 how I would Tx it. My first line was actually 601, nice and simple to position the cells. Then up to the document's first line, 592, but starting with the Perches column. Then use Shift + Enter to go backwards along the line. It's a bit of a faff, but really helps when you come across very slanted pages!